Pages

Florida Drug and Alcohol test course for Learners Permit / driver's license is approved by Florida DMV. Complete your A.D.A.P.T.-Alcohol Drugs Accident Prevention Training, TLSAE- traffic law and substance abuse education, D.A.T.A- Drug, Alcohol and Traffic Awareness Course, also known as the Florida first time drivers ed course online, go for DHSMV exam and pass it, and obtain your Florida Learner's Permit. Start learning how to drive safely.

Chapter 5. Societal and Economic Costs: Part 2

Florida Drug and Alcohol Test (TLSAE) Course: Chapter 5. Societal and Economic Costs

5.2. Personal Economic Costs and Legal Problems


Section 5.2. Personal Economic Costs and Legal Problems
PERFECT NIGHT ON THE TOWN

Here are ideas of the perfect night on the town, with approximate total costs.

EXAMPLE:
Some people would enjoy a night at the movies and a late-night snack afterwards.



MOVIE TICKETS $20.00
POPCORN/CANDY/SODA $15.00
FUEL/CAR COSTS (TO AND FROM THEATER) $5.00
COFFEE/DESSERT $15.00
GRAND TOTAL $55.00

EXAMPLE:

As you can see a casual night out can add up to a lot of cash! But it can get really expensive if you want to do something more elaborate. Some people enjoy going to a concert with dinner and the full VIP treatment.

RENT A LIMO $250.00
ROMANTIC DINNER 120.00
CONCERT TICKETS $150.00
GRAND TOTAL $520.00

An evening like this would even be more expensive if it were a prom or homecoming. The cost of the dress, tuxedo,corsage and more would have to be factored in as well. These items could add several hundred dollars to this special event.

GRAND TOTAL FOR PROM/HOMECOMING $820.00

Other people might want to go the "low budget" route by going to a convenience store, buying a six-pack of beer, and drinking it in the car. This will cost far less - right? Not if the person gets arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI).

LET'S COMPARE THE EXPENSE:


BEER $6.00


AND:


FINES AND FEES $1,700.00
INCREASED INSURANCE PREMIUMS $3,000.00
ATTORNEY $2,500.00
DUI SCHOOL $400.00
TIME LOST FROM WORK $500.00
GRAND TOTAL $8,106.00

LEGAL CONSEQUENCES


The biggest consequence of driving under the influence is that you might injure or kill yourself or someone else. It's also important tounderstand the consequences for drivers who are convicted of a DUI in Florida. You can be charged with DUI if you are found to be driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or controlled substance.

The amount of alcohol that can be detected in your system is measured by your Blood Alcohol Concentration, or B.A.C. The laws of the State of Florida establish a B.A.C. of .08 as the presumptive limit for driving under the influence. In other words, at .08 B.A.C., you are presumed to be too impaired by the alcohol in your system to drive safely.

A driver in Florida can receive a DUI for driving under the influence of any substance the driver should have known could affect their driving, including, but not limited to:






  • Illegal Drugs
  • Inhalants
  • Prescription Drugs
  • Over-the-counter Drugs
  • Other substances, taken by swallowing, sniffing, smoking, injection or any other means.
First time offenders convicted of DUI may face the following consequences:
  • A $500 - $1,000 fine (With a B.A.C. of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle, not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000)
  • 50 hours of community service
  • Probation for not more than 1 year
  • Imprisonment for not more than six months ( With a B.A.C. of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle, not more than nine months)
  • License revocation for a minimum of 180 days
  • Mandated attendance of 12 hours at DUI school; evaluation conducted to determine need for treatment
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for up to six continuous months
A second DUI conviction may result in:
  • A $1,000 - $2,000 fine (With a B.A.C. of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle, not less than $2,000 or more than $4,000)
  • Imprisonment for not more than nine months. If the second conviction occurs within five years, 10 days in jail; 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive
  • License revocation for a minimum of 180 days; 2nd offense within 5 years, 5 year revocation
  • Mandated attendance of 21 hours at DUI school; evaluation conducted to determine need for treatment
  • Interlock device placed on vehicle for a minimum of one year (two years if BAC is greater than .20)
A third DUI conviction may result in:
  • A $2,000 - $5,000 fine (With a B.A.C. of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle, not less than $4,000
  • Imprisonment for not more than 12 months; for a third conviction within 10 years, mandatory 30 days in jail; 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive
  • License revocation for a minimum of 180 days; for a third offense within 10 years after the second conviction, 10 year revocation
  • Mandated attendance at a 21-hour DUI course; evaluation conducted to determine need for treatment
  • Interlock device placed on vehicle for a minimum of two years
A fourth or more DUI conviction may result in:
  • A fine of not less than $1,000
  • Imprisonment for not more than five years
  • Permanent license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock device on vehicle for five years, if approved for a restricted license after meeting all the requirements of the FL DHSMV
WHEN AN IMPAIRED DRIVER IS INVOLVED IN A COLLISION IN FLORIDA IN WHICH A PERSON IS INJURED OR DIES, THE DUI CHARGE MAY BE UPGRADED TO A FELONY OFFENSE

DUI CONVICTIONS STAY ON THE DRIVER'S RECORD FOR 75 YEARS

Under the Implied Consent Law in Florida, a law enforcement officer may administer a chemical test of any driver's breath, blood or urine at any time. Refusing to take any test required by law to determine whether or not you are under the influence will result in your license being automatically suspended.

First Violation: One Year Suspension

Second Violation and Subsequent Refusal: 18 Month Suspension; the charge is a first degree misdemeanor

Drivers who refuse the test can still be arrested for DUI and taken to jail. In a collision involving injury or death, a driver's blood may be taken without consent.The blood must be drawn by a doctor, nurse or other health professional. If you are unconscious and cannot refuse the blood test, blood may be drawn. The results of the test may be used as evidence, even if you object after becoming conscious. Driving is a privilege. Never drive under the influence of any substance that could make you an unsafe driver.

Alcohol is a factor in 25% of Florida collision costs. Alcohol-related collisions in Florida cost the public $7.8 billion in 2000, including $3.5 billion in monetary costs and almost $4.3 billion in quality of life losses. Alcohol-related collisions are deadlier and more serious than other collisions. People other than the drinking driver paid $4.8 billion of the alcohol-related collision bill.

Costs Per Mile Driven
Crash costs in Florida averaged:
  • $6.50 per mile driven at BACs of .10 and above
  • $2.80 per mile driven at BACs between .08-.09
  • $0.10 per mile driven at BACs of .00
Costs Per Drink

The societal costs of alcohol-related collisions in Florida averaged $1.00 per drink consumed. People other than the drinking driver paid $0.60 per drink.

(NHTSA 2000 - Impaired Driving In Florida: http://www.nhtsa.gov/people/injury/alcohol/impaired_driving_pg2/fl.htm)

More Facts

In 2008, 32 percent of all traffic fatalities were alcohol-related. Sixty-eight percent of the 11,773 people killed in alcohol-related crashes in the US in 2008 were drivers with a B.A.C of .08 or higher. The remaining 32 percent were motor vehicle occupants(26%) and non-occupants (6%).

Fatalities, by Role, in Crashes Involving at Least One Driver With a BAC of .08 Or Higher, 2008

Role Number Percent of Total
Driver with B.A.C. = .08+ 8,027 68
Passenger riding with driver with B.A.C. = .08+ 1,875 16
Subtotal 9,902 84
Occupants of other vehicles 7,179 10
Non-occupants 692 6
Total Fatalities 11,773 100

(NHTSA, Traffic Safety Facts 2008 - Alcohol-Impaired Driving: http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/Pubs/811155.PDF)

The rate of alcohol involvement among drivers involved in fatal collisions was four times higher at night than during the day (36% versus 9%). In 2008, 15 percent of all drivers involved in fatal crashes during the week were alcohol-impaired, compared to 31 percent on weekends. In fatal crashes in 2007 the highest percentage of drivers with a BAC level of .08 or higher was for drivers ages 21 to 24 (35%), followed by ages 25 to 34 (29%) and 35 to 44 (25%).

Impact on Auto Insurance Rates

Alcohol-related collisions accounted for an estimated 17% of Florida's auto insurance payments in 2000. Reducing alcohol-related collisions by 10% would save $180 million in claims payments and loss adjustment expenses.

(NHTSA,Traffic Safety Facts 2008 - Alcohol-Impaired Driving: http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/Pubs/811155.PDF)

Did you know...

  • Alcohol impaired driving is one of America's most-often-committed and deadliest crimes.
    (NHTSA, stopimpaireddriving.org - press release: www.stopimpaireddriving.com/Drop-inArticles/SFST__NewsRelease.doc)

  • Drugs other than alcohol (e.g., marijuana and cocaine) are involved in about 18% of motor vehicle driver deaths. These other drugs are generally used in combination with alcohol.
    (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Impaired Driving:http://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/impaired_driving/impaired-drv_factsheet.html)

  • In 2008, the 11,773 fatalities in alcohol-impaired driving crashes represent an average of one alcohol-impaired driving fatality every 45 minutes.
    (NHTSA Traffic Safety Facts 2008 Alcohol-Impaired Driving: http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/Pubs/811155.pdf)

  • Drivers with a BAC of .08 or higher involved in fatal crashes were eight times more likely to have a prior conviction for driving while impaired (DWI) than were drivers with no alcohol.
    (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Impaired Driving:http://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/impaired_driving/impaired-drv_factsheet.html)

  • About three in every ten Americans will be involved in an alcohol-related crash at some time in their lives.
    (MADD: http://www.madd.org/media-center/media-library/Drunk-Driving-in-America-101408.pdf)

  • Alcohol-related crashes in the United States cost about $51 billion a year.
    (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Impaired Driving:http://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/impaired_driving/impaired-drv_factsheet.html)

  • Studies found that fatal crashes thought to involve alcohol dropped by about 20% following implementation of sobriety checkpoints. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Impaired Driving: http://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/impaired_driving/impaired-drv_factsheet.html)

  • Drinking is a major problem with pedestrians in traffic crashes. In Florida in 2008, 10.30% (922) of all pedestrians in crashes (8,951) had been drinking and36.25% (182) of all pedestrian fatalities (502) had been drinking.
    (Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Traffic Crash Statistics Report 2008: http://www.flhsmv.gov/hsmvdocs/CS2008.pdf)

  • In 2008, a total of 1,347 children age 14 and younger were killed in motor vehicle traffic crashes. Of those 1,347 fatalities, 216 (16%) occurred in alcohol-impaired-driving crashes. Out of those 216 deaths, 99 (46%) were occupants of a vehicle with a driver who had a BAC level of .08 or higher.
    (NHTSA Traffic Safety Facts 2008 Alcohol-Impaired Driving: http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/Pubs/811155.pdf)

  • Studies found that raising the minimum legal drinking age to 21 reduced crashes by about 16% among people ages 18-20 years.
    (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Impaired Driving: http://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/impaired_driving/impaired-drv_factsheet.html)




Florida Drug and Alcohol Test (TLSAE) Course:



Florida TLSAE/Drug & Alcohol 4 hour Course Online

Who is required to take this 4-hour drug and alcohol course?


This is a first-time drivers ed course for new aspiring drivers. The state of Florida requires all new drivers take a 4-hour drug and alcohol course. If you want your Permit License you must take this course. You can take the DATA course when you are 14 1/2. You can sign up right now at our website. Our course is easy and fun!
  •     Florida 4 hour first-time drivers course also referred as:
  •     TLSAE - Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education
  •     DATA - Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness course
  •     DATE Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness Education course
  •     ADAPT - Alcohol Drugs Accident Prevention Training
  •     Drug & Alcohol Course or Drug and Alcohol Class
  •     Florida Permit Test or Florida Permit Exam Course
  •     The Permit Test is also known as the DMV Exam or DMV Test
Florida first time driver course required to get a Florida drivers license. Florida first time driver courses teach drivers how drugs and alcohol affect driving,. In that situation you have to go home, make a new appointment and return the DMV. Every new driver is required to take a Florida TLSAE course.

Enroll your Florida 4 hour drug and alcohol course online and meet your learner's permit requirement.

Take Your FL Drug & Alcohol Test. FL DMV Authorized. Get Started Now!